VA Marriage Laws

In the state of Virginia, marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court in the city or county where either the bride or groom lives. If neither bride or groom are state residents, then they may go to any Circuit Court Clerk in Virginia to apply.

You must be at least 16 years old to marry in Virginia, and persons under 18 years of age must provide written, notarized consent by a parent or legal guardian.

Virginia does not require a blood test or physical examination to obtain your marriage license, but the license itself must be paid for with $30 in cash (no checks accepted). Both bride and groom must be present to apply, and each will be required to show identification such as a driver’s license, military ID or certified copy of your birth certificate. You will also need to know the complete, full names of both parents, including the mothers maiden names.

Once you have received your license, there is no waiting period, and no witnesses are required. The license must be used within 60 days of issue date. Call one of the numbers below for more information.

CHESAPEAKE
(757) 382-3000
Municipal Center in Great Bridge
307 Albemarle Dr., Suite 300A
www.cityofchesapeake.net

VIRGINIA BEACH
(757) 385-4181
Judicial Center Bldg. 10B
2425 Nimmo Pkwy
www.vbgov.com

NORFOLK
(757) 664-4380
100 St. Paul’s Boulevard
www.norfolk.gov

PORTSMOUTH
(757) 393-8158
601 Crawford Street
www.portsmouthva.gov

SUFFOLK
(757) 923-2251
Godwin Courts Bldg.
150 N. Main Street
www.suffolk.va.us

HAMPTON
(757) 727-6105
101 King’s Way
www.hampton.gov

NEWPORT NEWS
(757) 926-8580
2500 Washington Avenue
www.nngov.com/

YORKTOWN – POQUOSON
(757) 890-3350
30o Ballard Street, Yorktown
www.yorkcounty.gov

WILLIAMSBURG/JAMES CITY COUNTY
(757) 564-2242
5201 Monticello Ave., Williamsburg
www.jamescitycountyva.gov