All Ceremony Sites


Marriage License Laws

A couple, age 18 and older, wishing to get married in the Commonwealth of Virginia must obtain a marriage license. Every license for marriage is issued by the Clerk or deputy clerk of a circuit court of any county or city. The license is $30 and most Circuit Courts only accept cash. The license must be used within 60 days of issue date.

After obtaining the license, the couple, to be legally married, must go before someone officially authorized to perform religious or civil marriage ceremonies. After the ceremony is performed, the person performing the marriage has certain legal duties in completing the marriage license and returning it to the issuing Clerk, who, in turn has the legal responsibilities as to recording the license and providing a copy to the Registrar of Vital Statistics.


    • Main_wedding-couple_street

    Hilton Norfolk The Main

    • KaplanParishLogo

    Kaplan Parish Hall at Saint Bede

    • holiday inn virginia beach 4311847586 4x3 1 768x576

    Holiday Inn Oceanside

    • WindsorCastleManorHouse

    Windsor Castle Park & Manor House

    • DblTreeVBBuilding

    Doubletree By Hilton Virginia Beach

    • HINNFrontBldg 768x511

    Holiday Inn Newport News at City Center

    • WatertableLogo

    The Water Table at Fisherman’s Wharf Marina

    • VB ON THE GREEN Logo 1

    VB National On The Green

    • ArrowheadCeremony

    Arrowhead YMCA Conference Center

    • Smithfield

    Smithfield Center

    • DbleTreeNorfolkHotel

    Doubletree By Hilton Norfolk Airport

    • holiday-inn-8

    Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

    • FtEustisClubFountain

    The Fort Eustis Club

    • GrandAfiartent

    Grand Affairs

    • OutdoorCeremonyOceanfrontDeck

    Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

    • 545_VBCCweb

    Virginia Beach Convention Center

    • CW-wedding-venue

    Colonial Williamsburg Resorts